Refreshing Contrition

Guillermo Mota, a pitcher for the New York Mets and Cleveland Indians this past season was suspended from Major League Baseball for 50 games for violating the MLB’s steroid’s policy.

Being somewhat obsessive about baseball, Mr. Thursday has noted with a fair amount of interest that not only has baseball been unreasonably and harshly judged for its steroid users, but those found to have taken steroids have come up with the same basic excuse every time they’ve been cause. Essentially: “I don’t know how this happened. I’ve never used steroids. My [supplement-of-choice] must have been tainted.” This was even the excuse used by the linebacker Shawn Merriman of the San Diego Chargers when he was suspended for the same violation.

Mota, however, chose a different route. To quote from ESPN:

“I have no one to blame but myself,” Mota said in a statement that did not explain how he ran afoul of baseball’s drug rules. “I take full responsibility for my actions and accept MLB’s suspension. I used extremely poor judgment and deserve to be held accountable.

“To my teammates and the entire Mets organization, I am sorry. I truly regret what I did and hope that you can forgive me. To baseball fans everywhere, I understand that you are disappointed in me, and I don’t blame you. I feel terrible and I promise this is the first and last time that this will happen. I am determined to prove to you that this was one mistake.”

While we’re against steroid use, Mr. Thursday applauds Mota’s candor and honesty about the situation, and though he didn’t directly admit what he has done, he suggested no conspiracy theories, admitted that he had done wrong, and has promised to do better in the future.

There’s hope after all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baseball

Leave a Reply

